Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie saying hi - going racing

Hi Guys,

Newbie here saying hi and introducing myself.

My name's Will and I moved out to Dubai about 9 months ago and have just bought my first BMW. I've owned various other German sports cars before, including a heavily modified track Porsche 968 as well as currently owning a W124 Mercedes E500 here in Dubai.

I decided a few months ago that I wanted to go racing, and to enter the new Dubai GT Championship. An e36 M3 seemed like the cheapest way to be competitive, and I looked at the various merits of having a car built either back home in the UK, here in Dubai, or importing a ready built race car from the UK.

After a fair bit of due diligence, I've bought myself one. It's an e36 M3 Saloon car... but is a bit special. It's an ex-Dutch GT Championship car, built from a new chassis by Carly Motors on behalf of BMW Holland. It raced there and also in the Dutch Supercars before being bought by Erik Qvick of Qvick Motors where it raced in the Belcar series, winning it's class with 7 victories out of 11 races in 2007 when it last raced.

The spec is as follows:
    S54 engine, with the VANOS removed, ARP rod bolts, carbon airbox and KMS ECU and race loom.
    Full Safety Devices multipoint FIA approved cage
    JRZ 2-way remote reservoir race dampers.
    AP Racing 6 pot brakes on the front and 4 pot on the rear
    120 Liter ATL carbon fuel cell with quickfill
    AP airjacks
    WTCC Wishbones
    Fully rose jointed front and rear
    e46 GTR arches

Here's some pics:

As I said at the start - I'm completely new to BMW ownership, and am missing 90% of the contacts I'll need to run and race the car here in Dubai. So please bear with me while I ask a lot of dumbass questions.

I'm told there were a few other BMWs that ran in the Touring Cars last year. If the owners/drivers wanted to drop me a PM and say hi, I'd appreciate it, as I've got a lot to learn.