Expert advise needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expert advise needed

Hi Guys, I am new to firstly the BMW seen and also to this forum, I am in the throws of buying a jap imported E30 1990 320 six cylinder.
    I trust the guy i am buying it from (i am a keen diy'er and a have been in car sales for the last ten years in the UK and briefly here in Dubai) but have asked him to resolve an issue with the engine that is concerning but could be simple to resolve (i believe) before i seal the deal and I really want this car as everything else is good for price etc and want to help.
    When running warm the engine feels smooth while driving but revs are high (700-850 rpm) and surging in idle.It also sounds as if there and distinct feel of lack of power but seems to slowly get better towards the higher revs/speeds (my mazda 323 1.6 felt spritely after driving it). There are no rattles or bangs. He said he replaced the MAF sensor but said that it ran worse so put old one back on. It has a new battery and new platinum spark plugs. He says that is brother will adjust he MAF sensor and it will be fine. Is this possible on the version or is he spinning me a yarn?

Any help would be appreciated.:help:

Originally posted by Zim Zimmer View Post
    Hi Guys, I am new to firstly the BMW seen and also to this forum, I am in the throws of buying a jap imported E30 1990 320 six cylinder.
    I trust the guy i am buying it from (i am a keen diy'er and a have been in car sales for the last ten years in the UK and briefly here in Dubai) but have asked him to resolve an issue with the engine that is concerning but could be simple to resolve (i believe) before i seal the deal and I really want this car as everything else is good for price etc and want to help.