And so the problems start...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

And so the problems start...

:support: OK guys, your expert advice please. Forgive me for the amatuer terminology but i'm a complete novice here.

X Service have just called me to say that, having previously given the car the "all clear", they have noticed some problems while doing the oil change.

Firstly, he says there is bad damage to the "centre coupling"? He mentioned "shafts" and "bearing" (or perhaps shaft bearing?) and the "prop" and "rubber" and says that the damage can be attributed to wear and tear but that it will need replacing at a cost of around 1500aed.

Secondly, he said that the was a minor leak in the oil sump, but that, if i wanted, i could wait on that one because it's not too bad. He also mentioned something to do with the steering in that same conversation...are the two linked?

I really would have no idea what these repairs are, but i'm putting my faith in X and assuming that they would only do work that was required. To be fair, they've been really, really helpful to me and they said that they could show me the old damaged parts of i wanted.

So, can anyone offer shed some light on what these problems are? Are they common? Would i notice a difference in performace because of these issues? Is that price about right? Should i call back and get further confirmation...but then, even if i did, i still wouldn't really understand...i'm CONFUSED! :huh:

Any help would be greatly appreciated so i can rest-assured that i'm not being ripped off...

:thanks2::thanks2::thanks2:
    Last edited by the eldest boy; 20-10-2008, 10:32 AM.
    theeldestboy

Silver 2005 E46 M3 Convertible
    Alpine White 2004 E46 M3 Coupe
    Topaz Blue 2002 M-Spec 330ci Sport Convertible
    Blue 1998 318ti M-Spec Compact Sport