Advice on buying a used BMW

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on buying a used BMW

Hi Guys, I'm new to the forum and unfortunately I'm not yet a BMW owner, but I'm working on it!

I wanted to get some real world insight on the issues faced when buying a used BMW. my budget is around 100,000 (maybe stretch to 115 for the right ride) and I'm looking primarily for 3 or 5 series with less than 50k (max 60k) on it. But pretty much EVERYONE has told me I will pay a fortune for maintenance!

I plan to buy the car on a 3 year loan and I do about 20-25,000 KM a year - so let's say by the time I'm done paying off the loan it has around 130,000 KM on it. Between the time I buy it and the time I'm ready to sell, what kind of issues should I expect? Where are the best garages?

Sorry I'm a complete noob and new to the country (bought myself a 2014 dodge charger from the showroom and It got old real fast!), I love the BMW driving experience to bits but if I end up having to pay an arm and a leg for maintenance and deal with breakdowns and such, I will regret this decision I'm sure... Please advise if someone with my limited tolerance for garage visits should be a deterrent from buying a beemer!

Thanks!

What BMW are you planning to buy and what sort of worries do you have in mind?
    Drive To The Satisfaction... A Dreamer's Pursuit

2013 F10 M5 - M Drivers Package
    Alpine White / Sakhir Orange

Mods: ZCP Kidney Grilles

2009 E92 M3 - M Drivers Package
    Melbourne Red / Imola Red [Manual] (SOLD)

Mods: Full Catless AlphaMale Performance Valvetronic Exhaust | Macht Schnell Stage 2 Air Intake | H&R Lowering Springs | ECS Tuning Spacers | Carbon Fiber Front Splitters | Glossy Black Kidney Grilles | Plasti-Dipped Fender Grilles | LCI Tail Lights | Carbon Fiber H-Style Diffuser | Stage 2 Tune (Simon MotorSport) | Macht Schnell Pulleys | Carbon Fiber LowKick Trunk Spoiler

2003 E46 M3 - Carbon Black / Imola Red (BLOWN)