X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

E66 Buying Guide

Hi Guys!
    I am looking to buy a late model e66 730 and had a few questions:
    A) i know i need to set aside a certain amount for maintenance every year. Question is how much does it actually cost ro run it?
    B) i have been reading around the forums and the transmission problems seem to be really common on these cars. Do these problems affect the 730 aswell? Are they capable of achieving 200-250k kilometers with requiring a costly transmission replacement?
    C) what would a good 2007-2008 730 be worth right now?
    this is my first time buying a 7 so i would appreciate any advice you might have. Thanks in advance.

nobody has experience wit a 7?

Comment

suspension issues is common on the 7, make sure you get to know what sort of maintenance in that domain was covered throughout it's life span.

prices vary from 40s to 70s depending on the mileage and maintenance records. the maintenance should not be expensive unless you are dealing with suspension related failures.

Comment

i have an E66 750Li and so far i am really happy with the car. Obviously on the forums you will always read horror stories, is where they look for solutions the ones in trouble :) . Given that you're looking for the 730, which is the base model with less headaches you should be alright as the car didn't come with EDC and self adjusting suspension as standard, so nothing to worry about it, most likely you'll find one with the classic coilovers suspension. As for the gearbox, they all used the 6hpxx series, pretty strong boxes only flawed by minor issues which can be fixed easily if you know where to look for. Mine is now at 238k km, on its original box and struts and drives superbly, knock on wood not to jinx it :) .